Allah has shown the guidelines in the Qur’an, the Bible, etc. In other words, in a religious context, it is the “do’s” and “don’ts” that Allah prescribed. Remember that it is Allah Who says the “do’s” or “don’ts”. This is called fardz. You must do or not do as Allah says. There are 54 fardz [obligations] in the Qur’an. Allah also says, “Obey Allah and the Messenger” (Qur’an 5:92). You are going to perform these “do’s” and “don’ts” like he did. He is the example for you. Sharia is the authority among you. This can mean two things: 1. obey the government, and 2) from the Sufi perspective, the one who is assigned by the Prophet (peace be upon him) to represent him. Our Prophet (pbuh) took Hazrat Ali’s hand and said, “As I am your mawla, Ali is your mawla too.” Mawla is the authority. This is what Sharia is. Sharia has many sections: must, have to, should, ought to, better you do it, an opinion.

Our Prophet (pbuh) said, “Do not be extreme in the din [way of life].” We have to first learn what Allah says, which is what I am trying to do. Read the Qur’an. What Allah said is in the Qur’an, then the hadiths, if it is sahih. That is the shaykh. Shaykh is the hadith, whatever s/he does. S/he is the protector of Sharia, Tariqa, Haqiqa, and Marifa and that is why you say, “Sahib-el-Sharia, Sahib-el-Tariqa, Sahib-el-Haqiqa, Sahib-el-Ma’rifa.” Shaykh is the example. In order to be a shaykh, you need to have complete surrender. A shaykh has to obey. S/he does not do anything without permission and approval from Allah.

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in: Logo

You are commenting using your account. Log Out /  Change )

Google photo

You are commenting using your Google account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )

Connecting to %s